Gov. Janet Mills orders all travelers coming to Maine quarantine for 14 days; most lodging suspended

Maine Gov. Janet Mills issued a new order on Friday that mandates all travelers coming to Maine self-quarantine for 14 days to limit the spread of the coronavirus.The order directs the Maine Department of Transportation, the Maine Turnpike Authority, and others to post this guidance at all major points of entry into the state.People who are providing essential services to the state are exempt from the order the governor said.“To slow the spread of this deadly virus and prevent our health care system from being overwhelmed, we must all do our part,” Mills said. “I am mandating that anyone entering Maine self-quarantine for 14 days and abide by Maine’s Stay Healthy at Home Order. These actions will protect the health and safety of everyone.”Despite the order, the governor asked Mainers not to make assumptions about others based on their license plate.”Maine is a welcoming state, and we welcome the many servicemembers and medical professionals and others who are coming here to help us,” Mills said in a tweet.The order also mandates that visitors not to travel to Maine if they are displaying symptoms of coronavirus and advises them not to travel to Maine if they are traveling from cities or regions identified as coronavirus hot spots.Mills’ order suspends lodging operations, including hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts, inns, and short-term rentals such as those available through VRBO Airbnb, RV parks and campgrounds, and all public and private camping facilities as well as online reservations effective at noon on Sunday.The order said that lodging can be provided for housing vulnerable populations, such as for children in emergency placements, persons at risk of domestic violence, and homeless individuals as permitted by the state and for accommodations for health care workers or other workers deemed necessary to support public health, public safety, or critical infrastructure.The order takes effect immediately and lasts until at least April 30.Violators face up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Maine Gov. Janet Mills issued a new order on Friday that mandates all travelers coming to Maine self-quarantine for 14 days to limit the spread of the coronavirus.

The order directs the Maine Department of Transportation, the Maine Turnpike Authority, and others to post this guidance at all major points of entry into the state.

Advertisement

People who are providing essential services to the state are exempt from the order the governor said.

“To slow the spread of this deadly virus and prevent our health care system from being overwhelmed, we must all do our part,” Mills said. “I am mandating that anyone entering Maine self-quarantine for 14 days and abide by Maine’s Stay Healthy at Home Order. These actions will protect the health and safety of everyone.”

Despite the order, the governor asked Mainers not to make assumptions about others based on their license plate.

“Maine is a welcoming state, and we welcome the many servicemembers and medical professionals and others who are coming here to help us,” Mills said in a tweet.

The order also mandates that visitors not to travel to Maine if they are displaying symptoms of coronavirus and advises them not to travel to Maine if they are traveling from cities or regions identified as coronavirus hot spots.

Mills’ order suspends lodging operations, including hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts, inns, and short-term rentals such as those available through VRBO Airbnb, RV parks and campgrounds, and all public and private camping facilities as well as online reservations effective at noon on Sunday.

The order said that lodging can be provided for housing vulnerable populations, such as for children in emergency placements, persons at risk of domestic violence, and homeless individuals as permitted by the state and for accommodations for health care workers or other workers deemed necessary to support public health, public safety, or critical infrastructure.

The order takes effect immediately and lasts until at least April 30.

Violators face up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.